Illinois Freelance Worker Protection Act
The Freelance Worker Protection Act requires that freelance workers receive the contracted compensation amount on or before the due date under the contract terms. If the contract doesn’t specify a due date or the mechanism by which the date will be determined, compensation is due no later than 30 days following the completion of the agreed-upon services under the contract.
This act is slated to go into effect on July 1, 2024. View additional details.
Illinois Employees Paid Leave
Employees in Illinois will be entitled to begin accruing paid leave that they can use for any reason, beginning on January 1, 2024. For every 40 hours worked, an employee will accrue 1 hour of leave.
After accruing leave for 90 days, an employee can begin using their time. The 90-day period will either begin after the legislation goes into effect (January 1, 2024) or after the first day of employment (whichever is later).
Eligible employees can use up to 40 hours of leave during a 12-month period and must receive their full hourly rate for the time off. Tipped employees must receive at least the minimum wage.
Up to 40 hours of paid time off may be accrued per year. Unused time may be carried over to the next year.
Employers have the option to front-load 40 hours of leave at the start of the year or on the first date of employment. However, if they choose to do so, this negates the requirement to carry over unused time to the following year.
All employers must maintain detailed records of accruals and used time, as well as provide employees with applicable notices.
This article is informational and does not constitute legal or financial advice. Consult with an employment lawyer or accountant for additional clarification on how these changes impact your company.